Roots, Resilience & Renewal - Week 25 Updates

(Ver traducción al español)

SUPERINTENDENT’S UPDATES

Happy Friday!  This week includes one of my favorite days of the year - the Prize Patrol when FCCPS and Falls Church Education Foundation leaders visit the schools to surprise the nominees for staff awards. It was uplifting to be in all the buildings celebrating the people who make FCCPS so special. Learn more on this webpage

On the COVID front, the first week of opt-outs for masking went very well. There are changes on the horizon, both nationally and statewide, that will affect Falls Church. For now, FCCPS will continue with the current plan. When the expected new guidance is shared by the CDC, it will inform the next steps for the school division.  

The difficult journey of the past two years is wearing on all of us, so please take some time to focus on the social-emotional needs, mental health, and well-being of your student(s) and family. There are some wonderful resources available. I hope you will review the list below and reach out for support if you need it. Take good care and enjoy the long weekend ahead.

Sincerely,

Peter

#BetterTogether  #HandleWithCare

Social-Emotional/Mental Health:

Social-Emotional Learning Standards:

The Virginia Department of Education has developed a set of Social Emotional Learning (SEL) Standards for each grade. There are 5 identified areas of focus for PreK-12 SEL.

  Social-Emotional Learning Standards











Resources for Parents & Caregivers:

FCCPS Special Services Staff:

Each school has an amazing team of professionals ready to support students and their families. You can reach out to school counselors, school social workers, and/or school psychologists for support. Our staff is here to help students and families every day, but especially as we navigate during this stressful time. Reach out to them via email or call your student’s school directly.

Jessie Thackrey Preschool

School Counseling 

Laurie Prather (pratherl@fccps.org

School Psychologist

Kimberly Yeager (yeagerk@fccps.org

School Social Worker

Sarah Coughter (coughters@fccps.org

Mount Daniel Elementary School

School Counselors

Jed Jackson (jacksonj@fccps.org

Ilana Reyes (reyesi@fccps.org

School Psychologist

Kimberly Yeager (yeagerk@fccps.org)

School Social Worker

Sarah Coughter (coughters@fccps.org

Oak Street Elementary School

School Counselors

Laurie Prather (pratherl@fccps.org

Carol Seaver (seaverc@fccps.org

School Psychologist

Kimberly Yeager (yeagerk@fccps.org))

School Social Worker

Robin Borum (borumr@fccps.org

Mary Ellen Henderson Middle School

School Counselors

Matt Sowers (sowersm@fccps.org), 

Director of Secondary Counseling

Sia Knight (knights2@fccps.org),

Assistant Director of Secondary Counseling

Tara Filmyer (filmyert@fccps.org

Heidi Gilmore (gillmoreh@fccps.org

Gina Craig (craigg@fccps.org

Christie Kayal (kayalc@fccps.org

School Psychologist

Peggy Lloyd (lloydm@fccps.org

School Social Worker

Colleen Hoover (hooverc@fccps.org)  

Meridian High School

School Counselors

Matt Sowers (sowersm@fccps.org), 

Director of Secondary Counseling

Sia Knight (knights2@fccps.org),

Assistant Director of Secondary Counseling

Dana Quirine quirined@fccps.org

Brad McAdam (mcadamb@fccps.org

Valerie Chesley (chesleyv@fccps.org

Zach Fisher (fisherz@fccps.org

School Psychologist

Susan Bender (benders@fccps.org

School Social Worker

Ghada Khalaf (khalafg@fccps.org)  

Local Community & National Mental Health Resources:

  • Call 911 should you need immediate support in a life-threatening situation.

  • CrisisLink Regional Hotline: 703-527-4077 CrisisLink is a hotline for individuals in crisis or family/friends seeking guidance on how to help a loved one

  • CrisisText:  Text HOME to 741741 from anywhere in the United States, anytime. Crisis Text Line is here for any crisis. A live, trained Crisis Counselor receives the text and responds, all from our secure online platform. The volunteer Crisis Counselor will help you move from a hot moment to a cool moment.

  • Mobile Crisis Unit: 703-573-5679 The Mobile Crisis Unit (MCU) is an emergency mental health program of the Fairfax-Falls Church Community Services Board that provides on-scene evaluation, treatment, and crisis intervention in the community. 

  • Merrifield Center Emergency Services: 703-573-5679  The Merrifield Center of the Fairfax-Falls Church Community Services Board offers a range of clinical programming. Emergency Services, staffed 24 hours per day, seven days per week, works with people in psychiatric crisis who need immediate attention. 

  • National Hope Line: 1-800-SUICIDE (1-800-784-2433)

  • LGBTQ Lifeline: 1-866-488-7386

  • National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-TALK (1-800-273-8255)

  • SAMHSA National Helpline: 1-800-662-HELP (1-800-662-4357)

Did you know….that FCCPS parents can access free individual and/or family counseling services for students in grades 6-12? Please contact your student’s counselor for a referral to these services provided to families in our community via the Healthy Minds Fairfax program. This is a wonderful resource provided by the Fairfax/Falls Church Community Services Board.

COVID INFORMATION:

FCCPS COVID By The Numbers

Weekly updates to the data below ensure that all community members are informed about positive cases, testing, and masking. 

Data:

Number Positive of Cases for Week 25

Cumulative Since August 1

# of Student Cases:

31

375

# of Staff Cases

2

83

# of Students in Quarantine Due to Being a Close Contact

0

203

FCCPS Rate of Transmission

HIGH for Falls Church City

HIGH for Fairfax Health District

Please note that this data is just a snapshot of FCCPS in total and is adjusted based on the outcomes of each contact tracing investigation. 

All FCCPS positive cases are included regardless of source. These data include parent/staff reports, ViSSTA results, HD notifications, and healthcare providers.

ViSSTA Testing Data Week of:

Number Tested

# Positive

February 7-11, 2022

Tuesday

Thursday


386

365


1

2

February 14-18, 2022

Tuesday

Thursday


371

349


4

TBD

Location:

# of Students Opted Out of Mask Wearing

###b#< of Population

Jessie Thackrey Preschool

4

6.2%

Mount Daniel Elementary

34

6.9%

Oak Street Elementary

47

9.0%

Mary Ellen Henderson Middle School

38

6.4%

Meridian High School

47

5.5%

School Division

170

6.7%

Important Links for Parents:

FCCPS COVID POSITIVE RESULT REPORTING FORM 

FCCPS Student Vaccination Card Upload Portal 

ViSSTA Testing Registration/Permission Link

Student Self-Monitoring Health Screening 

Staff Self-Monitoring Health Screening 

VDH PARENT FLOW CHART FOR POSITIVE RESULTS AND CASES

FCCPS Student Mask/Face Covering Opt-Out Form