Falls Church School Board

The Falls Church City School Board

The Falls Church City School Board is comprised of seven members who serve four-year terms. A student representative joins the Board at all public meetings and participates in discussions but does not vote.

The Falls Church City School Board is charged by the statutes of Virginia and the regulations of the Virginia Board of Education with providing and operating the public schools for the City of Falls Church. It is the function of the Board to set general school policy and, within the framework of State Board regulations, to establish guidelines and rules that will ensure the proper administration of the city school program.

The board's primary responsibilities are:

Regular Meetings of the FCCPS School Board are generally conducted on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. In addition, Work Sessions are held on the 4th Tuesday of each month beginning at 7:00 p.m. During the COVID-19 pandemic, all board meetings are being held in a hybrid model and can be viewed on the FCCPS YouTube channel at www.YouTube.com/fccpsorg.

Public Participation at School Board Meetings

Members of the community are invited and encouraged to attend meetings of the Falls Church City School Board to observe its deliberations. Any member of the community may address the Board on matters related to the Falls Church City Public Schools at any regular meeting. School Board Regular Meetings are held on the 2nd Tuesday of each month.

Public Comments/Requests

The public may comment in person at the School Board’s regular monthly meetings. Speaker slips are available for the public at the meeting site and should be completed and handed to the School Board Clerk prior to the start of the meeting. The Speaker should clearly state their name, address, and the subject of their remarks. Members of the public are invited to speak by the School Board Chair in the order that the speaker slips are received. Per Policy BDDH, each speaker is limited to three minutes.

Written Comments/Requests

Written comments may be submitted to the School Board at schoolboard@fccps.org. Please indicate if you want the written statement to be part of the public record. Written statements received by 10:00 AM on the day of the meeting will be posted on BoardDocs prior to the meeting.

Photo of Dr. Peter Noonan

Dr. Peter Noonan
Superintendent
pnoonan@fccps.org

Laura Downs

Laura Downs
School Board Chair
ldowns@fccps.org

Tate Gould

Dr. Tate Gould
School Board Vice-Chair
tgould@fccps.org

Susan Dimock

Dr. Susan Dimock
School Board Member
sdimock@fccps.org

David Ortiz

Dr. David Ortiz
School Board Member
dortiz@fccps.org

Phil Reitinger

Phil Reitinger
School Board Member
preitinger@fccps.org

Lori Silverman

Lori Silverman
School Board Member
lsilverman@fccps.org

Kathleen Tysse

Kathleen Tysse
School Board Member
ktysse@fccps.org

Ariana Hameed

Ariana Hameed
Student Representative