EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

SPECIAL EDUCATION, 504 PLAN AND, ESOL SUPPORT


Special Education:

  • During this extended closure, FCCPS has launched its continuity of learning plan. While there is no new learning as a part of this plan, it is designed to engage and support all students during this closure. This includes our students with disabilities. Please visit your student’s school website for specific information related to the resources and support in place across the 4 core content areas.
  • Per guidance from the Virginia Department of Education, “If a school closure causes educational services for all students to pause within a school or division, then the school/division is not required to provide services to the affected students eligible for special education services during that same period of time. If a division has extended school closures, VDOE has advised that school divisions should consider options and ideas to engage students in reading, thinking and learning. Creating such opportunities should be done with careful consideration of providing equitable access and support for a variety of students.” Further VDOE shared, “Positive proactive strategies to continue engagement in learning are not a form of instruction/instructional day and thus would not require school divisions to offer FAPE.” (VDOE, March 18, 2020)
  • This means that during extended closures of schools when no new learning is provided IEP services are not provided. However, please know that we do have support strategies in place for our students with disabilities.
  • All IEP Case Managers and Related Service Staff (Speech, OT, PT, Behavior Specialists, Counseling, School Psychologists...) will be holding "office hours" for online/virtual and email support for your students. Each school has developed a plan to address this across grades and content areas.
  • Your student's IEP Case Manager and Related Service Providers (if applicable) will be reaching out via email to touch base with you about resources and strategies to help you and your student over the school closure.
  • Your student has access to all of the continuity of learning resources provided to their grade level, in addition to additional support resources from their IEP Case Manager and/or Related Service provider based upon their individual needs.
  • We appreciate your patience as we navigate this together. This is new for us all, but our goal is to ensure that our students with disabilities are supported given this unique situation facing us all. There will be bumps and we will work through them, so please be patient.
  • If your student is in need of additional support or help please reach out. Please contact your child's IEP Case Manager or your School's Special Education Administrator with specific questions.

504 Plans:

  • Our students who have 504 Plans in place to address their needs will have access to support during our continuity of learning activities.
  • Any parent who believes their student needs additional support during this time should reach out to their student’s teacher. Students should reach out as well.
  • Students with 504 plans will have access to accommodations and will be helped supported by their teacher(s).
  • 504 Case Managers and Counselors will also provide additional support with check-ins to ensure students are successful in online learning.
  • Please reach out to your student’s counselor if you have questions or need additional support.
Mount Daniel Elementary School Counselors Jed Jackson (jacksonj@fccps.org)
Carol Seaver (seaverc@fccps.org)
Thomas Jefferson Counselors Laurie Prather (pratherl@fccps.org)
Carol Seaver (seaverc@fccps.org)
Mary Ellen Henderson Middle School Counselors Alyssa Jacobson (jacobsona@fccps.org)
Matt Sowers (sowersm@fccps.org)
Tara Filmyer (filmyert@fccps.org)
Heidi Gilmore (gillmoreh@fccps.org)
George Mason High School Counselors Ilana Reyes (reyesi@fccps.org)
Dana Quirine (quirined@fccps.org)
Brad McAdam (mcadamb@fccps.org)
Valerie Chesley (chesleyv@fccps.org)

ESOL

    Per guidance from the VDOE “Divisions should apply an equity lens and consider the impacts on underserved groups, including students of color, students with disabilities, emerging bilingual students, students experiencing poverty and homelessness, and students who belong to other protected classes. Consider whether the model will improve or worsen disparities between populations. Consider barriers to equitable implementation and unintended consequences. Shifting from a “brick and mortar” school environment to online learning that meets the regulations of holding “school” is a complex task that requires thoughtful planning, serious consideration of practicality, and assessment of risk.”
    In order to meet the needs of our English Learners we have taken the following actions:
    • All ESOL teachers have been added to schoology classes in which they co-teach. This provides the ESOL teachers with access to supporting students and differentiating materials
    • All students in need of internet services have been provided a mifi device
    • All staff have access to utilizing Language Line services to support students in conferencing in their home language
    • ESOL teachers have their own Schoology classes in which they are providing language activities in the four language domains (Speaking, Reading, Writing, and Listening)
    • ESOL teachers will be conducting 1-1 or small group conferencing with each English Learner on their caseload 2x a week.
    • ESOL Teachers are collaborating with our General Education teachers to ensure accommodations and supports that are embedded in the online learning activities provided to all grade levels.
    • Your student has access to all of the continuity of learning resources provided to their grade level
    • Please reach out to your child’s ESOL Teacher for support or contact Dr. Jennifer Santiago at santiagoj@fccps.org.
    Mount Daniel ESOL Teachers
    Ann Beckman beckmana@fccps.org
    Robin Dickerson dickersonr@fccps.org
    Thomas Jefferson ESOL Teachers
    Kristine Miller millerk@fccps.org
    Holly Shaffie shaffieh@fccps.org
    Mary Ellen Henderson ESOL Teachers
    Paige Haney haneyp@fccps.org
    Gwen Villarreal villarrealg@fccps.org
    George Mason ESOL Teachers
    Paige Haney haneyp@fccps.org
    Linda Saleh salehl@fccps.org
    Amy Sebes sebesa@fccps.org
    • We appreciate your patience as we navigate this together. This is new for us all, but our goal is to ensure that our English learners are supported given this unique situation facing us all. There will be bumps and we will work through them, so please be patient.
    • If your student is in need of additional support or help please reach out. Please contact your child's ESOL Administrator with specific questions.