FY17 Budget

On Thursday evening, Falls Church City Public Schools will be requesting that the Fairfax County Planning Commission defer the vote on the Mount Daniel Elementary expansion project.

This week, a 2nd grader walked off his bus at the stop near his home. Later that hour, a frantic mother, who speaks little English, called Thomas Jefferson Elementary pleading for help, expressing something about her son.

All FCCPS Calendars are available in iCal Format making them compatible with most all SmartPhones and Tablets.

The first morning of the 2015-2016 school year saw more students in FCCPS classrooms than ever before. A record 2,515 young people were registered as of the first bell Tuesday morning.

At elementary schools, the day the Fire Trucks come to visit is always an exciting time. This morning, a faulty smoke sensor brought about an unscheduled visit as students and parents arrived for the first day. 

PPEA is the Public-Private Education Facilities and Infrastructure Act. It was passed in 2002 by the General Assembly to allow localities to form partnerships with the private sector. Through these partnerships, the public and private sectors work together to complete major projects, like building new schools. To date, hundreds of successful PPEA projects have been completed in Virginia.

A large number of developers, architects and others interested in the George Mason/Mary Ellen Henderson redevelopment attended the scheduled Project Information Session on Tuesday.

Nearly three dozen new faculty members have arrived at Falls Church City Public Schools for a week's long orientation session.

To answer community questions about the status of the Mt. Daniel Expansion Project, FCCPS Superintendent Dr. Toni Jones has issued this community update.

During the month of July MEH Summer School students are exploring careers through project-based learning. This week Dr. Patty Seo-Mayer visited to introduce the students to the wide range of Health Sciences careers - physician, nurse practitioner, audiologist, occupational therapist, and more. 

Falls Church City Public Schools submitted a substantial amount of additional information to the Fairfax Planning Commission on July 6th. The Planning Commission deferred a decision on the 2232 application until September 17th to allow sufficient time for the Fairfax Planning Commission to review and consider that information and for FCCPS to explore the project with the Planning Commission and address any remaining questions.

Stephanie Edwards (second from left) from Hilton Garden Inn visited MEHMS summer school, where students are learning about connections between  academics and the real world. Teachers working on the revamped program - Creative And Real-world Engaging Experience Realized this Summer (CAREERS) -  are introducing students to a wide variety of careers. 

As we await a decision on a demolition permit for the new Mount Daniel Elementary educational wing, summer projects continue on the other parts of the building. Ennis Electric workers (above) are installing large underground conduits to the new Electrical Closet.

The Falls Church School Board has received a conceptual cost estimate for the renovation and an addition to the George Mason High School of more than $95 million. The estimate includes $58 million to renovate GMHS and $33 million for a new educational wing to handle expected enrollment growth for the next 20 years.

2015 George Mason High School Spring Sport "Champions of Character" were recognized and congratulated by the Falls Church School Board during their meeting on July 7th.

FCCPS benefits from hundreds of community partnerships every year. Thanks to local businesses, individuals, non-profit organizations and government partners, who support our students and staff in innumerable ways. Check out the lengthy 2014/15 Partnership Directory.

Last week, the Fairfax County Planning staff recommended approval of the Mount Daniel Elementary expansion following study of the plan by the Zoning Administration staff, the Fairfax County Transportation Department, the Urban Forestry staff, and an environmental analysis by the Office of Site Development and Inspections.

Arcadis U.S. has been selected to serve as Owner's Representative for the George Mason and Mary Ellen Henderson campus planning project.

Four outstanding Falls Church City Public School educators applied for, and have been selected to, extend their learning in their educational field by distinguishing themselves as scholars.